Ohio ACOFP Installs New President

Toledo-Area DO to Lead Family Physicians


(May 2017) Roberta J. Guibord, DO, was installed as 2017-2018 president of Ohio Society of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (Ohio ACOFP) at the organization’s annual meeting, held April 20, during the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium. ACOFP President Rodney M. Wiseman, DO, of Texas, conducted the ceremony.

Guibord has practiced medicine in the Toledo area for 20+ years, the last ten years in a solo private practice in Perrysburg.

She has served on the Ohio ACOFP Board of Governors since 2013 and has been elected to multiple leadership positions. She is also an active member of the Ohio Osteopathic Association (and served three terms on the OOA Board of Trustees) as well as the local affiliate, Northwest Ohio Osteopathic Association. Through her work and involvement with these organizations she has demonstrated a commitment to the profession in general, and osteopathic family medicine in particular.

A special interest in legislative affairs led her to pursue the AOA Health Policy Fellowship. She has served in the ACOFP Congress of Delegates as well as the OOA and AOA House of Delegates.

Guibord graduated from Des Moines University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Services and completed her internship at Mount Clemens General Hospital in Michigan and her residency at Toledo St. Vincent Medical Center.

She succeeds Edward E. Hosbach II, DO, of Coldwater.

Prior to the installation Wiseman, a family physician in private practice, gave an update on national activities. He noted that ACOFP represents more than 20,000 physicians, residents and students nationwide. The organization focuses on quality education, visionary leadership and responsible advocacy.

Ohio ACOFP Board officers elected at the annual meeting were: President-Elect Geraldine N. Urse, DO, of Columbus; Vice President Jennifer L. Gwilym, DO, of Athens; Secretary-Treasurer Lili A. Lustig, DO, of Cleveland. Eight other physicians were elected to the Board: James A. Schoen, Jr., DO, of Dayton; Sharon L. George, DO, of Warren; Kelly M. Becker, DO, of Strongsville; Paige S. Gutheil Henderson, DO, of Columbus; Nicklaus J. Hess, DO, of Springboro; Melissa Juliano, DO, of Mansfield; Christopher J. Loyke, DO, of Cleveland; and J. Todd Weil, DO, of Columbus.

Printer-Friendly Version