Plan to Attend

Wednesday, April 22 - Sunday, April 26, 2015
Hilton Columbus at Easton Town Center
3600 Chagrin Drive, Columbus, Ohio 


Contact Information
Laurie Lach (740) 593-2151
Speakers: Laura Whitt (614) 352-4682
Exhibitors: Carol Tatman (614) 299-2107 ext. 201
Registrations: Joanne Barnhart (614) 299-2107 ext. 206


Levine A Photo High Res Headshot 20122015 Keynote Speaker

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Imagine yourself on the highest mountain in the world. You have to deal with the physiological effects of extreme altitude—along with bone-chilling temperatures, battering winds, and a climbing team that’s counting on all of its members to make smart decisions. There’s simply no room for poor judgment. One mistake or misstep can result in an “unrecoverable error.” Drawing on her experience as team captain of the first American Women’s Everest Expedition, Alison Levine will share her experience when she presents On the Edge: The Art of High-Impact Leadership at the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium. Levine makes a compelling case that the leadership principles that apply in the world of extreme adventure also apply to today’s rigorously competitive business environments. “In any situation where lives are on the line or the stakes are exceptionally high,” she says, “there’s no better training ground for leaders than settings where people are pushed beyond their perceived limits.”



2014 Symposium Highlights

The Ohio Osteopathic Symposium is a collaboration between the Ohio Osteopathic Association and the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine with participation by the Ohio State Society of the American College of Osteopathic Physicians, the Centers for Osteopathic Research and Education, the Advocates for the Ohio Osteopathic Association and the Osteopathic Heritage Foundations.  

In less than five years, the Symposium has become a premier event in the Midwest for osteopathic continuing medical education.  Last year's program was attended by more than 800 people, including 650 DOs, osteopathic residents and students.With a four-and-a-half day agenda full of engaging lectures and special events, the 2014 Symposium was highly rated by attendees.

The Changing Landscape of Health Care

Barbara Ross-Lee, DO, made history when she became dean of the osteopathic medical school at Ohio University in 1993, making her the first African-American woman to lead a US medical school. A pioneer, she led the way at a time when women and minorities faced serious obstacles entering the medical field.

As a scholar and speaker, she works to raise awareness of racial and ethnic health disparities. Her keynote luncheon presentation  examined the intersection of health disparities, health literacy, and policy. Ross-Lee, the first DO to participate in the Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellowship, established the osteopathic profession’s Health Policy Fellowship 20 years ago. Since then, more than 200 Fellows have participated in the nationwide program.

Addiction Medicine And Prescription Drug Abuse

Lectures throughout the Symposium addressed Ohio's prescription drug abuse epidemic with topics focused on addiction medicine.  Saturday's key note address by  Robert Stutman, former US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) special agent, resulted in a standing ovation. Mr. Stutman made a 25-year career as one of America’s highest profile drug busters. He was a DEA agent so visible, the Columbian Cartel had at one time targeted him for assassination.

ER/LA Opioid REMS: Achieving Safe Use While Improving Patient Care on Sunday morning.

“ER/LA Opioid REMS: Achieving Safe Use While Improving Patient Care” is an education activity presented by the AOA, a member of the Collaborative for REMS Education (CO*RE), 10 interdisciplinary organizations working together to improve pain management and prevent adverse outcomes. The session was supported by an independent educational grant from the ER/LA Opioid Analgesics REMS Program Companies (RPC). and was fully compliant with the ER/LA Opioid Analgesics REMS education requirements issued by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.  Here is a link to the updated 3-hour CO*RE REMS presentation for the OOA program on April 27 from 8:00 - 11:00 a.m.:

Latest research in Alzheimer's Disease 

Robert Nagele, PhD, along with his research team at Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine in New Jersey, has developed a ground-breaking blood test that can be used to diagnose Alzheimer’s disease with 96 percent accuracy. In addition to being the first blood test for diagnosing the disease, it is also less invasive, less expensive, and more accurate than previous tests, which predicted the possibility of developing Alzheimer’s disease later in life. Nagele was ithe 2014 recipient of the JO Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture.

2014 Poster Competition Largest Ever

The annual symposium poster exhibition and competition, open to osteopathic residents, interns and medical students, grew 13 percent from 2012, and featured  entries from five states, including Ohio, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Washington, and West Virginia.

In all, 92 abstracts were submitted for last year's event. Of the poster abstracts accepted for the competition, 38 posters presented case reports and 43 posters presented the findings of biomedical/clinical research.  Eleven additional posters were exhibited by faculty, osteopathic physicians and other medical education, but were not entered into competition.