OOA House of Delegates to Convene in April

The 2020 OOA House of Delegates will be held in Columbus, April 24-25 in conjunction with the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium. The schedule for the two days is below.

The House, the policy-making body for the osteopathic profession in Ohio, is led by Speaker David A. Bitonte, DO, of Akron-Canton District, and Vice Speaker Michael E. Dietz, DO, of Cincinnati District.

To serve as a delegate, work with your District Academy. Each District fills its delegation locally and is entitled to one delegate for each fifteen (or major fraction thereof) of the number of regular OOA members located within the district. All regular members of the OOA and district academy may serve as an alternate delegate.

All delegates will receive a HOD Manual which includes rules, rosters, and all of the resolutions to be considered this year. In addition to new proposals, the House resolutions include those previously adopted as part of a five-year review.

Resolutions may be submitted directly to the OOA office or through your local district academy. If you want the OOA Board of Trustees to take a position on your resolution during its February 22 meeting, you must submit it by February17. Otherwise, the final deadline is March 16.

Refer to the writing better resolutions tip sheet before submitting your resolutions. Once in final form, the HOD will discuss, and if passed the resolution becomes OOA official policy. Resolutions that require national attention will be passed to the AOA House of Delegates which meets in July.

There are a couple of registration options for delegates who wish to partially attend the Symposium and receive CME credits.

Full Package 25.5 CME credits
Allows delegate to attend all CME lectures, Wednesday through Sunday, except when the House is in session.

Fri-Sat Package 6 CME credits
Allows delegate to attend all CME lectures on Friday and Saturday only when the House is not in session.

Proposed Amendment

The following amendment is being proposed to the OOA Constitution to accommodate the transition to a single accreditation system for graduate medical education: 

Article VIII - Board Of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of this association shall consist of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Vice President, Treasurer, one member from each district academy, the President of the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Council, and a resident in an Ohio postdoctoral training program designated with Osteopathic Recognition accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, all of whom shall serve until their successors are elected or appointed. The Executive Director shall be a member without vote. Election of the district academy representatives to the association’s Board of Trustees shall be conducted as provided in the bylaws. The Board of Trustees shall be the administrative and executive body of the association and perform such other duties as are provided in the bylaws.



12:30-2:00 pm
Installation luncheon featuring incoming OOA President Sandra L. Cook, DO, and her Inaugural Address
Update from AOA President

2:00-3:45 pm
House of Delegates Session I

3:45-5:30 pm
Reference Committees

6:00-8:30 pm
Cocktail Awards Reception


12:00 -1:30 pm
District Caucus Meetings  (box lunches will be served)

3:30-5:30 pm
House of Delegates Session II

Printer-Friendly Version