New General Assembly Sworn In

[January 8, 2021]

Ohio Flags at Statehouse

The 134th Ohio General Assembly convened for the first time on Monday, January 4. It marks the start of the new two-year session.

Both houses conducted swearing-in ceremonies with newly-elected Senate President Matt Huffman taking his oath of office remotely due to a COVID-19 diagnosis. The Senate leadership roster includes:

Senate President
Matt Huffman (R-Lima)

President Pro Tempore
Jay Hottinger (R-Newark)

Majority Floor Leader
Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)

Majority Whip
Rob McColley (R-Napoleon)

Minority Leader
Kenny Yuko (D-Richmond Heights)

Assistant Minority Leader
Cecil Thomas (D-Cincinnati)

Minority Whip
Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood)

Assistant Minority Whip
Tina Maharath (D-Canal Winchester).

The Ohio House of Representatives leadership includes:

Bob Cupp (R-Lima)

Speaker Pro Tempore
Tim Ginter (R-Salem)

Majority Floor Leader
Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati)

Assistant Majority Floor Leader
Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Twp.)

Majority Whip
Don Jones (R-Freeport) 

Assistant Majority Whip
Cindy Abrams (R-Harrison)

Minority Leader
Emilia Sykes (D-Akron)

Assistant Minority Leader
Kristin Boggs (D-Columbus)

Minority Whip
Paula Hicks-Hudson (D-Toledo)

Assistant Minority Whip
Rich Brown (D-Canal Winchester)

Printer-Friendly Version