October 7, 2021

OrthoNeuro New Dublin Office Open House

CME Event

January 15, 2022

Physician Wellness Seminar

CME Virtual Program

Columbus District 6

About the Columbus Osteopathic AssociationCOA Logo

This professional society of osteopathic physicians has represented central Ohio DOs for more than 60 years. Columbus Osteopathic Association (COA) members deliver health care to Ohioans in a 19-county area from Upper Sandusky to Portsmouth. As the largest local affiliate of the Ohio Osteopathic Association, COA is the only local osteopathic entity in this area. This distinction strengthens our commitment to promote the osteopathic profession at every level from osteopathic medical student to resident to practicing physician.

The COA covers the following counties: Ashland, Crawford, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Pickaway, Richland, Ross, Scioto, Union, and Wyandot.


COA is governed by an Executive Council consisting of President, President-Elect, VP, Secretary-Treasurer, Immediate Past President, State Trustee (who represents the COA on the Ohio Osteopathic Association Board), and three Council Members who each serve a three-year term. Election is at the COA Annual Meeting. Medical students and residents serve on the Council by invitation.

The Council oversees the activities of the organization and strives to meet the mission of the organization. Per COA Bylaws, the mission is to exchange and disseminate information among members as to the improvements and advancements in the field of medicine and surgery; encourage mutual understanding and cooperation between members and agencies of the local, state and federal government dealing with health and welfare; support the growth and development of osteopathic schools of medicine, its organizations at national, state and local levels, its hospitals and colleges; and maintain and promote the highest moral and ethical standards in the practice of osteopathic medicine.

See the list of past COA presidents.


Each year, COA presents two awards to recognize individuals who have shown outstanding accomplishments in personal, scientific, community and professional affairs. Recipients promote the art and science of osteopathic medicine, embody the values of the profession through leadership and service to the public and the profession, and bring a sense of pride to the profession.

Read about the James F. Sosnowski, DO, Distinguished Service Award and see a list of the recipients.

Read about the William I. Linder, DO, Advocate Award and see a list of the recipients.


Columbus Osteopathic Association
Cheryl Markino, Executive Director
53 W. Third Avenue, PO Box 8130
Columbus, OH 43201
(614) 299-2107 - phone
(614) 294-0457 - fax
COA Facebook Page

District News

COA Announces 2021 Award Winners

Thomas E. Baker, DO, an orthopedic surgeon, and Dawn C. Dillinger, DO, a pediatrician, are recipients of this year's awards bestowed by the Columbus Osteopathic Association.

COA Announces 2020 Award Recipients

Henry L. Wehrum, DO, will receive the James F. Sosnowski, DO, Distinguished Service Award and Geraldine N. Urse, DO, will receive the William I. Linder, DO, Advocate Award at the Annual Meeting & Dinner, March 24 in Columbus.

Message from the COA President

(⛄December 2019)

The Executive Council is gearing up for next year. A health policy session is set for February 11, which is enough time to submit a resolution for the OOA House of Delegates by the March 16 deadline.

Message from the COA President

(September 2019)

With summer coming to a close, we are gearing up for the fall schedule and have a few events set for next month. On October 1, we’re hosting a Family Fun Night at LegoLand at Easton Town Center. It’ll be fun and games for the kids and free CME for you! Consider yourself warned though: the venue is very much geared toward children—including the tables and chairs! But for a one-hour education program we should be fine.

Message from the COA President

(June 2019)

At our first Executive Council meeting last week, we brainstormed about possible CME topics and personal development and wellness sessions, as well as locations. Our CME events will be free, one-hour programs—if you are a speaker or have meeting space at your facility, let us know.

COA Awards Prize at Poster Contest

The Columbus Osteopathic Association participated--for the first time this year--as a prize sponsor at the poster competition held annually at the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium. A first-year medical student at OU-HCOM won the $500 prize for her osteopathically-focused research project.

Columbus Osteopathic Association Presents 2019 Awards

Annual Meeting Set for March 13

J. Todd Weihl, DO, a COA past president, will receive the James F. Sosnowski, DO, Distinguished Service Award and Deborah Woods will receive the William I. Linder, DO, Advocate Award at the Annual Meeting & Dinner, March 13.

Message from the COA President

(December 2018)

On behalf of the Columbus Osteopathic Association Executive Council, I want to thank you for your continued support of our district association. We accomplished many things in 2018.