House and Senate Leadership Selected

[February 6, 2019]

The Ohio House of Representatives and Ohio Senate elected some leaders last month during the opening session. Below is the full slate, as approved today. 

Rep. Larry Householder (R-Glenford) - speaker
Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood) - speaker pro tempore
Rep. Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati) - majority floor leader
Rep. Anthony DeVitis (R-Green) - assistant floor leader
Rep. Jay Edwards (R-Nelsonville) - majority whip
Rep. Laura Lanese (R-Grove City) - assistant majority whip

For the Democratic caucus, the previously-announced leadership team was formally approved. They are:

Rep. Emilia Sykes (D-Akron) - minority leader
Rep. Kristin Boggs (D-Columbus) - assistant minority leader
Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid) - minority whip
Rep. Paula Hicks-Hudson (D-Toledo) - assistant minority whip

There was some shuffling in the Senate Republican leadership as former Sen. Randy Gardner resigned his seat to serve in Gov. Mike DeWine's administration. The Senate GOP leaders are:

Sen. Larry Obhof (R-Medina) - president
Sen. Bob Peterson (R-Sabina)  - president pro tempore
Sen. Matt Huffman (R-Lima) - floor leader
Sen. Jay Hottinger (R-Newark) - majority whip

The Senate Democratic Caucus will be led by:

Sen. Kenny Yuko (D-Richmond Heights) - minority leader
Sen. Cecil Thomas (D-Cincinnati) - assistant minority leader
Sen. Sean O'Brien (D-Bazetta) - minority whip
Sen. Sandra Williams (D-Cleveland) - assistant minority whip


Printer-Friendly Version